GLOSSING OVER IT

fiction. fashion. food. frivolity.

Big Book News

Posted on | October 9, 2012 | 17 Comments

Waiting to announce a book deal reminds me of the initial weeks of pregnancy, when you’re waiting until a certain time to share your good news. Perhaps it’s out of caution–maybe it hasn’t been an easy road and you want to wait until something “official”– a doctor’s visit, maybe, or the end of the first trimester. All the while, you’re glowing, dizzy, maybe even nauseous.

Well it’s official, as far as my books go! I’m thrilled to announce that my debut novel, Vintage, will be published by the William Morrow imprint of HarperCollins in 2014, to be followed by a second book in 2015. Here’s the official deal announcement, from Publishers Marketplace:

“Debut author Susan Gloss’s VINTAGE, set in a Madison, WI vintage dress shop, where every garment has a story, just like the women who meet there — a pregnant teenager, a disgraced Indian housewife, and a divorcee looking for love — who over the course of a few months come to transform the store and each other, pitched as Friday Night Knitting Club with couture for fans of Allison Winn Scotch and Juliette Fay, to Rachel Kahan at William Morrow, in a good deal, in a two-book deal, by Christina Hogrebe at Jane Rotrosen Agency (NA).”

I am beyond excited about this news. The William Morrow imprint has been around for 80 years, and has published Neil Gaiman, Meg Cabot, Marisa de los Santos, Dennis Lehane, Elmore Leonard, Ray Bradbury, and the Freakonomics books by Steven Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner, just to name a few.

I would not be making this announcement if it weren’t for my amazing agent, Christina Hogrebe. Not to mention my husband, for putting up with my countless revisions and general neuroses, my parents and my mother- and father-in-law for their hours upon hours of childcare, and my writers’ groups here in Madison… but I’ll save all that for the acknowledgement sections of the books! For now, I’m just grinning.

Comments

17 Responses to “Big Book News”

  1. Ruta
    October 9th, 2012 @ 7:29 am

    Congratulations!!!!!

    This is so exciting! Will it be sold in regular book stores or will it be a smaller publication?

  2. Erin Ryan
    October 9th, 2012 @ 8:28 am

    Susan – congratulations on such a fantastic ending to months and months of tireless work! So proud of you. -E

  3. Susan
    October 9th, 2012 @ 8:30 am

    It will be sold in regular bookstores and also in eBook format.

  4. Mary Vettel
    October 9th, 2012 @ 10:21 am

    Congratulations, Susan! What wonderfully exciting news! I was intrigued by your Vintage story the 1st time I read about it – a query? the 1st 5 pages? a while back. Can’t wait to read it!

  5. Sandy Gorman
    October 9th, 2012 @ 12:52 pm

    Congratulations, Susan! Such exciting news – can’t wait to read Vintage!!

  6. Suzan
    October 9th, 2012 @ 2:54 pm

    Susan, I am THRILLED! Can’t say I’m surprised, though. My crystal ball was on the money all along.

  7. Karla
    October 9th, 2012 @ 4:47 pm

    Congrats Susan!! You worked so hard….how wonderful!!

  8. David
    October 10th, 2012 @ 12:10 am

    Congrats again! What an accomplishment!

  9. Cheryl Koevoet
    October 10th, 2012 @ 9:28 am

    Susan – just read your post on the QT forum — that’s AWESOME!! Bib, big, big congrats with your deal — look forward to seeing it in print!

  10. Barbara
    October 10th, 2012 @ 11:16 am

    Fabulous news Susan! Can’t wait to hear more about the process.
    b

  11. Style Maniac
    October 14th, 2012 @ 11:14 am

    WOO HOO!!!!!!! Fabulous news, Susan! I am so very happy for you. Can’t wait to read your novels. This is so exciting, and so well deserved.

    p.s. when you plan your book tour, make sure to put Philly on the list — there’s a great independent book store up the street from me, I’ll tell them all about you :)

  12. Pat Edwards
    October 14th, 2012 @ 2:50 pm

    Great job! Susan, it’d be wonderful if you could come to the group sometime to share the process with others. Pat

  13. Dahlia
    October 15th, 2012 @ 12:32 pm

    So, so incredibly wonderful. Can’t wait to see it in print! Congratulations, Susan!

  14. Jerry Peterson
    October 17th, 2012 @ 1:36 pm

    Your story idea is excellent. I can see why the editors at William Morrow wanted your book. Congratulations.

  15. Stephanie
    October 20th, 2012 @ 2:59 am

    Congratulations! I read the announcement on PW a few days ago and loved the concept.

  16. Leandra
    April 23rd, 2013 @ 8:59 pm

    Congrats! And I love the sound of those vintage dresses… =) So glad all your hard work and dedication has paid off for you!

  17. Mitzi McColley Sorensen
    April 27th, 2013 @ 1:41 pm

    Read about this on Query Tracker Community. Congratulations! I always enjoy reading the success forum. Made note of this so I can buy novel when it comes out. Be sure to mention it again on Query Tracker Community in 2014.

  • The Debutante Ball

     photo 61b869ae-42e5-42ee-bd39-74b05dad7bc7_zps00e9d054.jpg

    Grab the Deb badge by copying the code!

  • My Etsy Shop

  • Categories